Proton Pack Build: Update 5

I finished the main part of the pack today! ^_^ Just have the Bumper and the Motherboard left to do and the pack part will be done. After that there’s the Particle Thrower and the Bracket. After it’s all done then I can finally start the resin and fiberglass process.

100_0280

First up is the Spacer. It wasn’t too difficult to put together. Instead of doing like Proton Charger did on his and use a cardboard box to give the side plates more stability, I just stacked up 3 pieces of the 100 lb. laser card stock and glued it all together on top of using the aluminum tape. I think it turned out pretty well and felt more stable than cardboard.

100_0279

Next was the Cyclotron that sits on top of the Spacer. I had a couple of problems, mostly with gluing it all together, but in the end it turned out pretty well. I’m planning on going to Home Depot or Lowes after a little while to get the giant washer ring pieces that go on top of the Cyclotron. Hopefully they’ll have the right size so that I don’t have to cut them out of plastic. I would rather use the real thing rather than potentially screw something up. lol

100_0281

Next, I’ll be working on the Bumper piece that goes over the Cyclotron. I just have to get a new print of it because PC released an easier version on his thread. Will update once that is completed. ^_^ See you next time! ^_^

About sagedismal

I'm a Graphic Artist from TN that moved to TX for more opportunities. I also enjoy prop making and will be going back to school soon for my Bachelor's Degree in Animation.

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Cosplay, Costume Building for Guys, Costume Building for Ladies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This build is looking amazing so far! I can’t seem to find the pep files through that link though, would you possibly be able send a copy?

  2. Great build! I have been dying to get my hands on these pep files but to know avail. Everything I find is dead links or inverted and password protected pep files. Is there any way you maybe could provide the files? would love to get started on building a pack.

Leave a comment