Ghostbusters Proton Pack Build Part 2: Electric Boogaloo

Sorry it took so long to post this up. I was having troubles with the Crank Generator pieces. Also, from now on, I’m going to be posting every Tuesday and Friday. I’ll just show you where I’m at so far in the build, whether I have a part completed or not. And now, here’s where I’m at so far.

I ain't 'fraid o' no ghost.


First up is the Power Cell. This part wasn’t too bad to construct. It’s pretty much just a box with 5 rib pieces and a cut out section. Here’s what everything looks like when it’s first cut out.

100_0255

It doesn’t seem like much, but when it’s assembled it looks pretty cool. It had a section that had to be curved that wasn’t in the original plans, so I had to cut out a piece of scrap card stock to glue there. That’s the part on the left, second from the top. The one third from the top is one of the rib pieces. the other 3 are third, fifth, and seventh pieces there on the bottom. They were probably the hardest part of this piece to do, mainly because of the slight curve on end of each of them.

100_0257

You can see the curved parts in this shot better. That bottom piece was really hard to get on there. It kept giving me problems.

100_0256

This is what it looks like when the Power Cell is added. The next piece I started working on, the Crank Generator, took forever to get together. It gave me so many problems.

Crank Generator

The Crank Generator has been the biggest pain in the backside that I’ve had to work with so far. It had a ton of those rib pieces and some of the parts didn’t line up just right. Also there were a lot of really ambiguous sections because of the way the numbers overlapped.

100_0260

Here’s an example of one of the easier sections that had some overlapping numbers. I had to cut them all as one piece when cutting it out. There wer other sections that had even worse cuts that I had to just guess when cutting them out. I’m just glad I had the pep files on my computer so I could see how the pieces fit together.

100_0265

Here it is! The finished Crank Generator! It took me about a week to finally get the whole thing put together, but I think it turned out pretty well. Now that that’s finished, the Corner Plate has something to rest up against.

100_0264

Here’s what it all looks like assembled together. Next Tuesday I’ll be showing you where I’m at with the build. Hopefully I’ll be finished with the Gun Mount box and started working on the Cosmetic Plating in the middle before moving on to the Cyclotron section. See you next Tuesday! ^_^

About sagedismal

I'm a Graphic Artist from TN that moved to TX for more opportunities. I also enjoy prop making and will be going back to school soon for my Bachelor's Degree in Animation.

Posted on July 2, 2011, in Cosplay, Costume Building for Guys, Costume Building for Ladies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment